Ripley County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


Ripley County was first encountered by the Delaware, Potawatomi, and Shawnee Indians as a rich hunting area. It’s name derives from an officer named Gen. Eleazer Wheelock Ripley who was remembered for the Battle of Lundy's Lane and the Siege of Fort Erie, in 1814. In 1816 Ripley County was formed after a proposal that a new county be formed.

John DePauw from Washington County, Charles Beggs of Franklin County, and W.H. Eades of Jennings County, were appointed to select a site for the new county seat by an act of the General Assembly on January 7, 1818. The first three Commissioners with a daily earning of three dollars settled on a hundred acre tract donated by John Paul of Madison. This hundred acre tract is known today as Jefferson County. The county seat was named Versailles in honor of DePauw’s native city in France and was laid out as a town of 186 lots by John Ritchie.

Ripley County, located in the southeastern part of Indiana, has 450 square miles or 288,000 acres. It is 27 miles north to south and 19 miles east to west with an elevation ranging from 600 feet to 100 feet above sea level. Laughery Creek, named for Colonel Archibold Lochry who fought in the Revolutionary War, flows through the county


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved